Dead Man Talking by Jana DeLeon

Posted September 1, 2020 by Marsha in Paranormal Cozy Mystery, Paranormal Romance, Series / 0 Comments

Welcome to Everlasting, Maine, where there’s no such thing as normal.

Meteorologist Zoe Parker put Everlasting in her rearview mirror as soon as she had her college degree in hand. But when Sapphire, her eccentric great-aunt, takes a tumble down the stairs in her lighthouse home, Zoe returns to the tiny fishing hamlet to look after her.

Zoe has barely crossed the county line when strange things start happening with the weather, and she discovers Sapphire’s fall was no accident. Someone is searching the lighthouse but Sapphire has no idea what they’re looking for. Determined to ensure her aunt’s ongoing safety, Zoe promises to expose the intruders, even though it means staying in Everlasting and confronting the past she thought she’d put behind her.

Dane Stanton never expected to see Zoe standing in the middle of her aunt’s living room, and was even more unprepared for the flood of emotion he experiences when coming face to face with his old flame. Zoe is just as independent and determined as he remembered, and Dane knows she won’t rest until Sapphire can return to the lighthouse in peace, so he offers to help her sort things out.

Armed with old legends, Sapphire’s ten cats, and a talking ghost, Zoe has to reconcile her feelings for Dane and embrace her destiny before it’s too late.

Titles in the multi-author ‘Happily Everlasting‘ series include –  Dead Man Talking by Jana DeLeon – Once Hunted, Twice Shy by Mandy M. Roth – Fooled Around and Spell In Love by Michelle M. Pillow – Witchful Thinking by Kristen Painter – Total Eclipse of the Hunt by Mandy M. Roth – Curses and Cupcakes by Michelle M. Pillow – An Everlasting Christmas by Mandy M. Roth

There is, also, a ‘Happily Everlasting‘ World series, ‘Bewitchingly Everafter‘ by Mandy M. Roth — those titles include – Don’t Stop Bewitching – Everybody Wants to Rune the World – Do You Really Want to Haunt Me?  

Title:  Dead Man Talking
Series:  Happily Everlasting #1
Author:  Jana DeLeon
Genre:  Paranormal Cozy Mystery
Publication Date:  October 10, 2017
Star Rating:  4.5

This review originally appeared on my Keeper Bookshelf blog (think of it as a sister blog).  Because I reviewed the first of the spin-off series, Don’t Stop Bewitching here, I decided to bring the reviews of the “parent” series here as well.  Both blogs are owned and operated by me.

I was delighted with Dead Man Talking which begins the multi-author series, Happily Everlasting.  To make a point here, this is why I try to be careful about revealing spoiler details in my reviews.  This series was published in 2017, there is no time limit on a good book, and I’m a first time reader for this particular series… so no going to Goodreads to look it up beforehand because I don’t want to read spoilers.

This time, you really only need to read the Cover Description before knowing if you’d want to pick this book for yourself.  What I can tell you beyond that information is that Dead Man Talking had me laughing out loud, cringing at times, hopeful for a second chance romance, and puzzling who exactly is the culprit that’s responsible for the troubles at the lighthouse.

I adored Sapphire (Zoe’s aunt) and her cats.  Gosh, if only I could be that spry at her age.  *laughs*  Dane and Zoe were fun, interesting characters and it was enjoyable to watch them come together again, reassess their past and work together to keep Sapphire and Zoe safe.  I was rooting for a reunion of the romantic kind for those two throughout the story.  There are clues scattered about, some red herrings, some second-guessing my villain choice, and an exciting final reveal.  I had such fun with Dead Man Talking, and if you love solving puzzles, Cozy Mysteries of the Paranormal kind, or simply a really good, entertaining story then you’ll want to check this story and series out for yourself.

I read this title through my Kindle Unlimited subscription.

Available for the Kindle


Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply